0.3 C
New York
November 30, 2023

Serena Williams to Receive the Fashion Icon Award at the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards

Serena Williams to Receive the Fashion Icon Award at the 2023 CFDA Fashion Awards

The CFDA Fashion Awards just got a little more iconic. Serena Williams, one of the greatest athletes of all time, will receive the Fashion Icon award, the first to be awarded to an athlete. 

“Ever since I was a little girl, I’ve used fashion as an outlet to express myself,” said Serena Williams in a statement. “I have had so much fun learning my style and allowing it to change as my life has evolved, but I’ve always held one thing true—fashion is for everyone, no matter your size, race, or income. I am incredibly honored to be receiving the prestigious Fashion Icon award from the CFDA, an organization whose work I have long admired and to stand among style icons I have always looked up to.”

CFDA Chairman Thom Browne added, “Serena is one of the most inspiring people in the world… a true individual… she is an icon of the sports world… representing greatness on the highest level… a perfect combination of our worlds… the ultimate example of individuality in everything she does.”

The awards, which will take place at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City on November 6, 2023, will be hosted by Sarah Jessica Parker. As for the nominees, the CFDA announced a well-rounded group of designers earlier this year. 

“This year’s nominees and honorees are diverse, creative, and entrepreneurial, and each, in their own way, is reshaping the present and future of our industry and the global fashion landscape,” said Steven Kolb, CEO of the CFDA, in a statement. The list of nominees includes a wide range of industry stalwarts and buzzy emerging talents: Tory Burch, who’s been expanding her design vocabulary of late, has been recognized with a nomination for American Designer of the Year and Stuart Vevers, who celebrated his 10th anniversary at Coach last week, is nominated for Accessories Designer of the Year, while Connor McKnight and Rachel Scott of Diotima are first-time nominees for Emerging Designer of the Year. Raul Lopez of Luar, who closed New York Fashion Week last night with a knockout show in Brooklyn, is nominated twice for Womenswear Designer of the Year and Accessories Designer of the Year, the latter of which he won last year.

Vanessa Hudgens and Vera Wang, who is one of the honorees at this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards.

Photographed by Hunter Abrams 

Designer and former Vogue editor Vera Wang is being recognized with the Board of Directors’ Tribute for her impact on the bridal category, while Maria Cornejo, who is celebrating 25 years in business this year, will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert is going to Domenico De Sole, the former Gucci Group (now Kering) CEO and Tom Ford International chairman, while the Environmental Sustainability Award will be presented to designer Mara Hoffman. See the full list of honorees and nominees below:

Founders Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert
Domenico De Sole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Maria Cornejo

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Alina Cho

Environmental Sustainability Award
Mara Hoffman

Fashion Icon Award
Serena Williams

Kendall Jenner and Catherine Holstein of Khaite, who received the Womenswear Designer of the Year award last year.

Photographed by Hunter Abrams 

American Womenswear Designer of the Year
Joseph Altuzarra, Altuzarra
Catherine Holstein, Khaite
Christopher John Rogers
Raul Lopez, Luar
Tory Burch

American Menswear Designer of the Year
Mike Amiri, Amiri
Willy Chavarria
Colm Dillane, KidSuper
Teddy von Ranson, Teddy Vonranson
Thom Browne, Thom Browne New York

American Accessory Designer of the Year
Ana Khouri
Brandon Blackwood
Stuart Vevers, Coach
Raul Lopez, Luar
Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen, The Row

American Emerging Designer of the Year
Bach Mai
Connor McKnight
Rachel Scott, Diotima
Tanner Richie and Fletcher Kasell, Tanner Fletcher
Carly Mark, Puppets and Puppets

International Designer of the Year
Jonathan Anderson, J.W. Anderson and Loewe

Read More